laminated hardwood cabin sole

Status
Not open for further replies.

diamonddave

Seaman
Has anyone had any experience using Home Depot type laminated wood flooring in boats. I have a 1976 30' Pacemaker and want to install a wood cabin sole, the stuff I saw at Home Depot was laminated to plywood not MDF. I thought this would stand up better. The floor would not get very wet, only when changing bathing suits or getting out of the shower. It is a "floating" system, that is, the pieces are glued to each other but not fastened to the sub-floor of the boat, which is 3/4" plywood in good condition. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

flashback

Captain
Re: laminated hardwood cabin sole

Im in the building business by trade and have seen a lot of laminated floating floor systems, and one thing i can tell you is they do not like water.....as a matter of fact, I would't use them in the kitchen of my house although it is very popular these days.. as a matter of fact, Ive had customers ask to put it in a hall bath and I make them sign a waiver to remove me from any responsibility or warranty issues....... It wouldn;t last a week in a boat.........

JHOLE

Seaman Apprentice

Would someone please just tell "Dave" that this would be an excellent idea, he should run right out put this stuff in his boat. <br /><br />This is now covering two posts. So far an installer of this same product, a builder who won't even warantee it in wet locations, and a general contractor/factory certified installer can't seem to bring themselves to give him the go ahead. It would be great if someone could help this poor soul out and give him the o.k. so that he can get started on this project that he is obviously going to do anyway.

f_inscreenname

Commander