Knocking

Patrick123

Cadet
I bought a boat a while back, almost ready to take it out. It is a 1977 Fiberform with a 350 and a recently rebuilt Mercruiser drive (please forgive my ignorance for not remembering the model #.) Anyway I am pretty new to I/O boats but I like to think I know my SB Chevs. The engine sounds like it's knocking when it is running in my driveway with the garden hose hooked up. It sounds like a cold diesel. Except for the knock the engine sounds and seems to run great (at least in my driveway) and oil pressure is strong. I have gone all over the engine with a mechanic's stethescope while it's running and it doesn't really seem to be a rod like I would suspect. I bought the boat not running (wiring issues) but was told the engine was good. Is there any chance that a knocking noise is normal? I don't really know what sounds to expect with the engine bolted rigidly to the hull of a boat sitting on a trailer, I'm pretty new to this. If it isn't normal where should I start in my tracking of the noise? The drive supposedly was rebuilt recently. When I got the boat, the outdrive was off and the u-joints and bellows and stuff all look brand new, so I believe it. Thanks in advance for your help.

Boatist

Rear Admiral
Re: Knocking

Patrick<br />Welcome to the board.<br />Should make no more niose the a auto 350 chev.<br /><br />Does it sound like all cylinder knocking or just one?? Things that can make Knocking noise. Timing too far advanced, more of a ping sound.<br />Valve lifter out of adjustment.<br />Bad rod bearings.<br />It is a diesel.<br />Flapper valve in exhaust.<br />NO oil pressure or very light oil like 5 weight.<br /><br />Out of the water you will be able to here exhaust noise.<br /><br />Good luck and come back and tell us what you find. I am sure others will have more info.

Patrick123

Cadet