JOHNSON SUPER SEAHORSE 1965 40HP WIRING UP BATTERY

steveo555

Cadet
Hello Chaps,<br /><br />I am a complete novice who bought the above engine on ebay. I am trying to get her fired up to see if she runs. Very nice bloke explained it starts but chokes and dies so thinks th carb needs a good clean. Before I can check all this I need to know how to wire it up. I even have the manual but I'm just too stupid to get it. I wired a new 12v battery as follows. RED (+) to the big red (+) on the solodiod(new), and black (-) to the case of the starter motor (which is connected to the chasis) for earth. The starter shoots up and tries to turn the big toothy cog thing(see told yo I was stupid). It goes very slowly and doesnt start the engine. When I pull the power it stays where it is. The wires get very hot and the nutral bit starts to smoke and the starter does too. Help me please!! I also have two thin wires (black and brown) to the left of the outboard which are connected to nothing. How do I wire this bugger up! ps. I have primed the fule line with bulb etc and choke is on.

Paul Moir

Admiral
Re: JOHNSON SUPER SEAHORSE 1965 40HP WIRING UP BATTERY

Welcome to Iboats, JohnsonNewbie555!<br /><br />Could you elaborate on the 'neutral bit' which starts to smoke some more?<br /><br />Also, could you explain the wiring on the solenoid a little bit. You have a big red wire going to one big post on the solenoid, and another big wire from the other big post to the starter. What's going on with the little posts on the solenoid? When you connect the battery, is that when the starter jumps up or are you hitting a switch somewhere for that?<br /><br />Thanks, I think we can get this worked out for you!

jfm1

Petty Officer 1st Class

Hi Newbie this sounds like you need tc clean all connections and retighten a bad connection will cause a wire to burn and the starter to cook jt also sounds like the carbs do need rebuilt / compression test / let us know what you find

Silvertip