johnson 115 please help

I have what I taught was a 1977 model but it appears I am wrong. The lower part of engine is black the cover is white with raised Johnson logo. And it has a tell tail coming from the exhaust baffle near cylinder 3. Can you give me a year range from this info? Also the baffle is flat.

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: johnson 115 please help

Look at the model number located on the data plate and also stamped into the freeze plug on the top of the block. Things can get swapped, changed, painted etc since the late 70's.

Welcome aboard! Post that number and we can go from there.

I drive a truck for a living and I'm currently not home I have some pictures if that will help. But I don't know how to post them. Lol

boobie

Supreme Mariner

Guessing, anywhere from '73 to '77.

I was told by previous owner a 77 but the tell tail looks like it came from factory that way and to my understanding the 115 didn't get a tell tail until 79 is this correct

boobie

Supreme Mariner

But it's got the '73 to'77 ignition. '78 and up was different. The tell tale looks like factory , but the hose is to short and a longer hose should be run over the top of the block.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner