Job change

I want to take a job in the E.R ss mayfloat said it is up to me. Just want some input on if I should take it or not. I am a nursing student and would be a good learning experence for me. I work in a lab right now. What do you think? Sink or Swim?

KeltonKrew

Lieutenant
Re: Job change

if you are a nursing student this will be good experience for you. It's tough work. I had to do several shifts in the ER (and labor/delivery) when I became and EMT. Hours are long and you see a lot of things that most never will.<br /><br />However it is rewarding. But for a carrer, if you're going into nursing, you can't really ask for better training.

SpinnerBait_Nut

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

The ER will give you plenty experience in all fields of medicine for sure, from scraps and cuts to life threatening/ending injurys and everything in between.

txswinner

Banned

ER is fine but protect your back, this is one of the areas where nurses suffer a high level of back injuries.

Braxton

Chief Petty Officer

Go for it! Good luck to you, and God Bless what your doing.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Ms. M.<br /><br />Two of my three daughters and three of their partners are nurses (the third daughter is a PT). Their combined experience adds up to over 100 years of everything from NICU to battlefield care.<br /><br />Time in ER is like initiation. You need to do it sooner or later. Sooner means a sooner perception of the range of your options and a sooner grasp of what part of nursing appeals to you most.<br /><br />Go for it, and best of luck to you. There is no higher calling than nursing.

aspeck

Staff member

Definitely good experience! When you are busy, you will be very busy, and when there are no emergency happening, wait, uh, there are always emergencies! You are going to be busy! But you WILL learn a lot!

gonfishn

Commander