JB Weld under exhaust manifold

Susquehanna Squid

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am wondering if I have to remove the exhaust manifold in order to apply JB Weld. I have a 1988 3 liter OMC and water is shooting from just under the exhaust manifold (no water in oil thank God). Upon inspection I found that the last owner applied JB Weld to the same spot. The boat did not leak much at all last year but I am pretty sure that I did not remove all of the water before I put it away last winter. I know that i have to get the old JB out of there (as much as possible) and clean it up but it is a very tight space up in there. My question is: would it be OK to just apply as much JB Weld as I can up in there or should I attempt to remove the manifold. I am not a mechanic but am pretty good with the wrenches. The existing JB Weld is on the block and the manifold and it looks like it was applied pretty thick. Also, I do not care what it looks like just as long as it quits leaking. Any help would be appreciated!

Re: JB Weld under exhaust manifold

Is there a hole is the exhaust manifold itself or just the gasket. If its just the gasket it would be a very easy job maybe no more than a couple of hours. If its the manifold I would probably look into getting a new or used one the but on. With water leaking like that it may find its way to the oil eventually. Good Luck!!!

Susquehanna Squid

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I am not sure where the hole is exactly due to all of the JB Weld in there already. But I am pretty sure that it is coming out of the block just below the exhaust manifold gasket.

cooter2506

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Pull the manifold. and get rid of as much JB as you can. Check block where the JB is it might be a cracked block instead of the manifold. But you will not know which is leaking until you get it apart. Seems to me old owner just gooped as much JB in there as he could with out removing manifold and hoped for the best

Last edited:

PINESOL

Petty Officer 3rd Class