Is this a fair price for a 2000 Bayliner Bowrider Capri/Is this engine size adequate

Justakid

Recruit
Hello,

I'm extremely new to the boating world and was wondering if anyone could lend me some of their expertise with respects to the following boat:
http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/van/boa/3146588441.html

I've spoken with the owner and he's said that he's willing to take $6500. I've checked NadaGuides and it's valued this boat around $5000, but those are American values which I assume differ somewhat significantly from Canadian values.

Also, is the 135 HP Mercruiser enough power to pull a pair tubing with 3 other people in the boat?

Thanks for your time!!

oldjeep

Admiral
Re: Is this a fair price for a 2000 Bayliner Bowrider Capri/Is this engine size adequ

For around here, that would be in the reasonable price range for that boat at the beginning of the season. This time of year prices go down. Plenty of power to tow a tube with 3 on board. I slalom ski behind mine (which is a 195) at 32MPH with 4 in the boat.

Nada is a bit behind on these boats since the price has gone up so much in the past few years. In 2000 that boat probabally cost $10K. Today the exact same boat costs 20K

Looks nice in pictures, main thing is checking for any water damage in the floors and taking it for a spin on the water.

emoney

Commander
Re: Is this a fair price for a 2000 Bayliner Bowrider Capri/Is this engine size adequ

It would be too much for around here, but I'm in the "land of boats". Hard to say for your area. How does it compare to similar boats?

doyall

Petty Officer 1st Class

NADA value doesn't include the trailer so add for it.

Personally, I would consider the offer price a wee bit on the high side.

Tubing as you describe it ... absolutely. I have slalomed many a mile behind an older 3.0L in a 17 1/2 footer with three on board. Takes some time to get up but ...

TilliamWe

Banned