Intro and shifting question

kc95gt

Cadet
I've been cruising the forums here for a couple months and decided to finally join. I bought a 94 VIP Vision 1930 a year and a half ago. I put a wakeboard tower, a 4 blade prop, and did a little bit of upholstery work, and we were out wakeboarding almost every weekend last summer. The only issue I have with it (besides having to replace the starter midsummer) is some shifting issues which may be related.
First, the shifting and throttle is very stiff in both directions. I've oiled the cable and the shifter itself with no luck. The cable moved easily when unhooked from the carb and drive, but maybe it's just dragging under load? Should I just replace the cable or could there be something else I need to check?
Second, when shifting into gear, if I don't shift quickly, you can hear the gears grinding. If you move the shifter somewhat quickly it just clicks into gear, but if you move it slowly, you can hear them grinding until you move it far enough for them to catch. Is this normal? FYI, it's a mercruiser 4.3

Thanks

CheapboatKev

Vice Admiral
Re: Intro and shifting question

Welcome Aboard..

Others far schmarter than I will come along...

However a few things come to mind.

1. Do you have the OEM manual? If not, get yours here
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?p=1693398#post 1693398

2. May as well replace the cables, dont think ya oil em, you replace them.
There is also very specific instructions for adjusting them..Which sounds like your shifting grinding issue.

Good luck, these guys are a good group to ask questions of.

Bondo

Staff member

Second, when shifting into gear, if I don't shift quickly, you can hear the gears grinding. If you move the shifter somewhat quickly it just clicks into gear, but if you move it slowly, you can hear them grinding until you move it far enough for them to catch. Is this normal

Ayuh,.... Welcome Aboard,...... That's quite Normal,... Alphas need to be shifted Briskly....