installing 12v to 120v inverter

jecooper

Cadet
Hi, all, i installed a 2000w 12v to 120v inverter on my 1996 Sea Ray 25ft sun dancer, there was plenty of room in the engine compartment and a 120v receptacle near by, I thought i could install the inverter and back feed the 120v receptacle to power the rest of the boat with 120v power. Seems i'm wrong, when i turn on the power the receptacle that i backfed, has power to that socket, but no A/C power to the rest of the boat, am i missing something?

airshot

Rear Admiral
I am no electrician in any way, but I have used the small inverters on many ocassions. I have found they only work well powering one device at a time, not sure why..

tpenfield

Staff member
I have an inverter on my boat. The way they work is nothing short of magic (IMO :ROFLMAO: ) . So, to properly install an inverter I assume you have to be a magician. :LOL:

Not sure what you mean by backfeed, but with shore power connected, the inverter should be passing the 120v through rather than making the AC current from the battery bank. Got any more info on how you wired the inverter to shore power and any AC outlets/appliances?

BTW - when you added the inverter, how many batteries did you add?

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Hi, all, i installed a 2000w 12v to 120v inverter on my 1996 Sea Ray 25ft sun dancer, there was plenty of room in the engine compartment and a 120v receptacle near by, I thought i could install the inverter and back feed the 120v receptacle to power the rest of the boat with 120v power. Seems i'm wrong, when i turn on the power the receptacle that i backfed, has power to that socket, but no A/C power to the rest of the boat, am i missing something?
Explain what you mean by "backfeeding"?

you mean putting AC in the outlet and then hoping to get lots of 12 volt juice out the other end?

They do not work that way.