!@#$ Impossible Walleye - Maryland

crxess

Chief Petty Officer
Ever had this happen?

Potomac River(Mid Maryland)
Water is bad low, but fishable with patients.
a.m. Rain - overcast skies - air temp 78
Fishing 2'-10' Clear water over rocks/Boulders

Day trip totaled 12 sub par Small mouth.

We saw at least 200 Wallweye avg 15" or better hovering and schooling over flat rock/gravel areas.
At one point I had 15 just hanging of the starboard side 5 feet off the back.

I tried for a good hour to get a bite from one of these and several others hanging nearby with No success. Threw everything I had except the anchor and they just ignored it.

Tiny spinners red - green - white, big spinners, grubs, Night crawlers, Worms in black/pink tail - coffee/green curly tail - dark green, fat baby bass cranks, narrow cranks, curly tails and more.

Nada, zip, nothing.......
I know I'm a total amateur at fresh water. 56 and my first year out, but come on:( Was it all me or do they some times just refuse to eat anything? If so, why were they holding in the currents?
This one of the most exciting and disappointing days I have ever had on the water.

Mark_VTfisherman

Lieutenant
Re: !@#$ Impossible Walleye - Maryland

That happens when walleye fishing sometimes. There's times I have marked a million fish on the sonar and got nary a bite. There's other times when I couldn't mark any fish, and never got a bite in fall when the water cools.

If I knew how that worked I would be fishing with Gary Parsons...:(

soundman2424

Cadet

Apparently you weren't offering them anything that they wanted to bite on. Simple as that. Next time, try a #11 Rapala floating Shad in blue or chartreuse and see what happens. Pull it about 2 MPH +/- .5. Or try pitching a minnow tipped 1/8 oz jig and bounce that around them. The 'eyes around here have been crazy all summer. We caught 17 last weekend that were hogs. I haven't seen walleye fishing this good in a very long time.

crxess

Chief Petty Officer