impeller and hot motor

bob519

Cadet
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I really appreciate the great information I can find here. I recently purchased an old Lonestar Malibu with Johnson Javelin 30 hp. The previous owner said he had it on the lake this summer but I'm not so sure. This is my first boat so I am no expert but I do know my way around a small engine. I did some work on it and managed to get it running. It has lots of compression and appears to run strong but I didn't run it very long because it did not circulate very much water. The engine got too hot to touch. I did run it with muffs and a garden hose. So I am attempting to drop the bottom end so I can inspect the impeller but after removing all 7 bolts it will only drop about 2 - 3 inches. It appears that something in the shift linkage is holding it back. What am I not disconnecting? Also, please tell me that I haven't ruined anything by running it without enough water circulating.

Any help or advice would be appreciated. Thanks

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: impeller and hot motor

To start off what I beautiful motor, I love the Javelins.

You cannot run that motor on your conventional muffs that you would use for modern outboards. If you do not have the special attachment, you will need to run it in a barrel of water or on the boat.

You need to disconnect the shift rod before you can get the lower unit to drop. On the port (left) side of the leg there will be a 1x2 oval access panel. Remove that, and you will see the shift rod disconnect. Remove the lower screw from the coupler and the lower unit will now fully slide down.

bob519

Cadet