I'm really new at this...

novelles

Seaman Apprentice
...so I would appreciate some help.<br /><br />I bought a 1996 Bayliner 1851 last year and I have no idea on how to do some basic repairs. :confused: <br /><br />First, it has some hits on the hull, and the clear colour (almost white) is gone and you can see the fiber glass. How to repair this?<br /><br />Second, the lower part of the hull is (well it really was sometime)red. Should I polish (how?) or use a colour restorer?<br /><br />Third, some aluminium parts of the windshield have a hard solid salty look. Anyway to solve that?<br /><br />And finally, different parts on the inside of the boat (bilge, chest) have rust stains I can't remove. Could I paint this parts? If so, what kind of paint may I use?<br /><br />I know I should surf the forum for answers but I have no time and english is no my native language. I hope you would understand this. ;) <br /><br />Thank you all.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: I'm really new at this...

Sorry, but I can't help you with the fiberglass repairs. You could try the "project boats forum".<br /><br />Yes you can polish the fiberglass.<br />A good automobile polish will work. You may have to buff it quite a bit.<br /><br />I would try an auto parts store for a cleaner for the aluminum. Or perhaps try a calcium and lime remover, similar to those used to clean bathtubs.<br /><br />Yes you can paint the bilge area. Make sure it is completely dry. I would use a quality enamel paint.<br /><br />Your english is better than most American's.

novelles

Seaman Apprentice