II Drive Help

Superbee

Seaman
Hi All<br />I have a II Drive on my 1968 Mark Twain <br />(II Drive 1964-1967 1602186 THRU 2278488)<br />Motor(225 GM 327 V-8 1963-1966 1539620 THRU 2278646)<br />It's leaking oil from the bottom behind the prop i found a new o-ring and seal for the lower end, I'm a newbie to boats, I did get a book on the Drive but it does not have the II drive listed, Anyone want to help me on this Fix?<br />this is the only thing stopping me putting this boat in the water:)<br />Thanks

Laddies

Banned
Re: II Drive Help

Superbee, I have a II drive manual a round some where what do you need to know and I try to help---Bob

marinemech1

Chief Petty Officer

before removing carrier see what prop shaft rolling torque is<br />when reassembling you will need a new crush ring and set rolling torque back to original number.<br />i think that is correct will check a manual tommorow at work (its been 10 years since i serviced one of these)

Superbee

Seaman

Sounds like a rear end, i was hoping it would be an easy fix, i will take any help possable to make this an easy fix the drive is good makes no noises just leaks oil from the prop i don't want to burn it up<br />Thanks

Laddies

Banned

This sounds and probably is a over simplifcation remove the prop and hardware, drain the unit, unscrew the carrier nut, with a little luck the seal retainer will come out. Be CAREFUL most of this stuff is NLA. Its been a long time since I have seen a II unit so if you need more advice than this I see if I can find the manual. Well I got the manual so we are all set I hope if you don't have something to work as a spanner for the carrier nut, a dealer may rent you one, or a hydralic cyl. spanner may work, once the nut is removed, if the seal carrier won't come out easily, hook a slide hammer to the prop shaft and tap (beat) it out change the seal coat the carrier and nut with anti seize and reassemble, sounds like a peice of cake, I hope it is--Bob

Superbee

Seaman