I am new to boating. i am thinking about buying a 1997 four winns 205 sundowner

sdw41lite

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I am thinking about buying a 1997 205 sundowner with 5.7 gli eng.225 hp. volvo eng. and outdrive. comes with a trailer for 9900, is this good boat and what should I look for. He keeps this boat at the marina its in the water all the time, the bottom has been painted. The boat will be used in lake St. Claire

DBreskin

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: I am new to boating. i am thinking about buying a 1997 four winns 205 sundowner

The price of any used boat is primarily dependent on it's condition. $9900 may be a fair price if the boat and trailer are in pristine condition. Be sure to conduct a sea trial and have the boat examined by a competent marine mechanic before making an offer.
Be sure to look for evidence of rot; soft spots in the floor or damage to the transom. Is the boat kept covered to prevent rain from collecting?

89-conv

Seaman Apprentice
Re: I am new to boating. i am thinking about buying a 1997 four winns 205 sundowner

Having recently bought a 1996 190 horizon, boy did i get myself in a mess.. First off that out-drive. SX Cobra, moreover a SX Frankenstein.. about 5 years and they switched it, so parts are hard to come buy, [I mean "BUY"]. While Merc parts are everywhere, and 1/3 the cost.. My 5.0 Engine seems fine, but still have not been able to take it in the water for a good text,, to busy repairing that SX..