Hyster Forklifts anyone?

Oregon Jon

Seaman
I have a 1977 Hyster SS25 that has some issues. I need to get a repair manual for it but I'd like to find a used one. I've seen them before on E-Bay, but I thought I would start here. Also if anyone has any expertise on these things I would love to chat. Thanks

jimyoung

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Hyster Forklifts anyone?

It has been awhile, but I was a Hyster service mechanic in the early 80's, cant help with a manual, but outside of electronics on the engine they cant have changed much.....what are the problems/symptoms?

Windykid

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I also worked on them quite a bit in the military. Let me know if I can help.:)

Oregon Jon

Seaman

Thanks for the replies. Jim, I sent you an email to the link you gave me also.

Anyway here is the short version: It needs a valve job, which is the main reason for the repair manual (specs and such), but it really doesn't run too bad. The most aggrevating thing is the transmission/clutch. It uses the Monopedal system, that I assume you have seen before. It has plenty of fluid, but acts like it doesn't. It takes 5 or 6 seconds to move in either direction. Actually forward gear is the worst, and has trouble with any kind of an incline. I see no leaks, and the fluids look clean.

I was hoping someone could just tell me where the magic adjuster knob was:D

Seriously though, is there an adjustment for this or do you think it isjust wearing out?

Windykid

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Have the trans filter and hydraulic filters been changed?

Does it respond better once it is warmed up?

Are the brakes dragging?

Hoss the Hermit

Chief Petty Officer