hydro electric shift 69 johson

transamjegs

Cadet
i need to know if you can change a hydro electric shift lower gear unit to a mechenical shift. if anyone knows could you please tell me. the motor runs fine but its stuck in forward. i hear that hydro electric shift can be a problem. :confused:

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: hydro electric shift 69 johson

No way to hook up shift linkage. Have you checked the electrical system to find out what is wrong with yours.

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral

What model?
The 40 hp is an Electra-matic, the 55 and 85 hp are hydro-electrics.

They can be converted, but it is a massive PIA and pretty well requires a whole donor motor for the lower end, linkages, cowling and other stuff.

By the way, a hydro-electric defaults to forward. It may not be stuck.

transamjegs

Cadet

im new with boat motors. car motor i know. when i put it in reverse, it stays forward. i start it its in forward and in neutral its forward. i checked wires to the knife connnection and they are getting power. no power forward 1 wire power 2 wire power reverse but havent checked wires to through the bottom end because no connections.

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral

Is the gearcase full of Type C oil? These don't use the regular 85-90 weight stuff.

transamjegs

Cadet

yeah its full of oil.this boat was given to me couldnt harly turn it down, they had it in the water doing fine in 2007. it has sit with no use since then. motor runs good. ive not had it in the water yet. have tested motor in tank

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral

It did not shift running in the tank? I ask this because the hydro's do need to be running to shift.....

transamjegs

Cadet

It did not shift running in the tank? I ask this because the hydro's do need to be running to shift.....