Hydraulic/Electric Trim Tabs

Hey Guys,<br /><br />I'm pretty new to the world of boating. I have an 18' Marada MX-1 Sport. It is a Fish/Ski boat, with a 4.3 Mercruiser V6. 1997 Model Year. Like I said, I'm pretty new to all of this and just read an article about trim tabs in Trailer Boats Magazine. The article seemed to be geared towards ocean vessels, although one line in the article said that most any boat would benefit from these tabs. The packages they talked about seemed a little pricey for my boat, but I wanted to find out if this is something that would benefit me. I mostly use the boat for pulling friends on wakeboards/skis/tubes on the local lake. I almost never use it for fishing. I hope this question does not sound that dumb, but I thought it might give me a little more speed and improve the ride. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

SS182

Seaman
Re: Hydraulic/Electric Trim Tabs

DestinyEscape,<br /><br />I am in the same boat, pardon the pun. I would like to install some tabs on my 18' bowrider. Tabs will help you get on a plane faster and minimize bow rise... i.e. quicker out of the hole. Tabs also help you stay on a plane at a slower speed, which is often nice for wakeboarding. Many posters on this board like Bennett. The m80 line would fit our needs well. Due to budget constraints I am going to try the cheap mans version... hydrofoil mounted to the cavitation plate of the leg. Hydrofoil Good luck in your decision.<br /><br />SS182

Strike 1

Cadet

I purchased Bennett trim tabs last year using the advice from this forum. They were easy to install and solved my problems of shifting weight and getting up on plane. This year I may add on the option that returns the tabs to the zero position when the motor is turned off so I always know where I'm starting from.<br /> Do a search on "trim tabs" and read what everyone has to say about them. I use the search often and found the answers I needed without having to post a question.

Boatist

Rear Admiral