How to remove broken gearcase screw?

old motor

Cadet
On my 1986 Evinrude 9.9 the lower gearcase oil filler screw is now loose, but won't come out. I turned it to change the gearcase oil, and there was a tiny snap, and it now turns around non-stop. I <br />guess either the screw has broken or the case threads have stripped. <br />My immediate problem is how to remove the screw. I can't get a grip on it because it is set flush to the outside of the case. Does anyone have any suggestions?<br /><br />Then, if I can remove the screw, what should I do next? If the case is stripped, can it be rethreaded? I suspect not, since it is cast aluminum, but I'm no expert. Again, any <br />suggestions?<br /><br />Thanks in advance!

Hooty

Rear Admiral
Re: How to remove broken gearcase screw?

Oh my.<br />That's not good. If you get the plug out, you can always helicoil new threads in. That ain't the problem. The problem is gonna be gettin' the old one out. That rascal is stainless and harder then woodpecker lips. If you could pull and unscrew at the same time, it would probably back right on out. I'm gonna have to think about this. Lets keep this post at the top and see if anyone else has a solution.<br /><br />c/6<br /><br />Hooty7

old motor

Cadet

A lesson in preventative maintenance, I guess. I didn't bother changing the gear oil last year, since the motor had very little use. BUT, it does get run in saltwater, so I guess the screw got jammed with corrosion, with the interface of different metals. In future, I must remember to regularly turn all accessible screws and nuts, as well as wash off the motor with fresh water, and perhaps coat these types of threads with Never-Seize as well. Live and learn!<br /><br />BTW, what is a "helicoil"?

Hooty

Rear Admiral