How much hp do I need ????

Gigawatt man

Cadet
This is my first time on this site, so I hope I'm posting in the right place !!! I recently purchased an older Aluminum 21 foot Sylvan. It came without motor and I'm trying to figure out how much hp I'll need to make it perform okay. It'll likely never be used for anything except fishing and probably never carry more than 4 adults. Would a 90 hp fuel injected Nissan be enough? I would appreciate advice from anyone with experience on this topic. Thank you.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: How much hp do I need ????

What is the boat rated for?<br />This is a deep-v hull, correct?<br />In my opinion, 90 should be good.<br />Try to get 80% or more, of whatever the boat is rated for.

Solittle

Fleet Admiral

I would go for the largest 4 cylinder outboard that is allowed for your boat - that would be in the 100-135 hp range. A 90 with a full load of people & gear seems a tad light to me.

dyac156

Recruit

I just bought a 14 foot Jon Boat for river fishing and it does not have a rating plate. The title is from NJ, it sayst it is a 1978 Sea. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Gigawatt man

Cadet

Hello Roscoe, thanks for the reply. The boat is rated for 180 hp and I have ridden in one exactly like it, that had a 150hp Merc. We had four large people and the live well had about 35 gal. of water and the fuel tank was full with 45 gal. My GPS said it was doing 42 mph. I don't need to do 42, if I can get 30 mph, I'll be happy.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

Sorry, I guess I haven't seen any Sylvans that were rated that high. It must be bigger and heavier that what I was imagining. <br /><br />So, a 90 may be too small.<br />Hopefully someone else will chime in here.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

I agree with Roscoe's advice, Digger. Most boats perform well with 70-80% of rated max HP.<br /><br />By that guideline, I wouldn't put less than 130HP on her, and think a 150 would be ideal.<br /><br />Good luck. :)

sloopy