How does this happen?

Bassy

Lieutenant Commander
Okay, you all know I'm a teacher. Half the time I teach Independent study, the other half I teach in a RSP classroom; the new term for Special Ed. So, in the RSP class this morning my aide and I are telling the 20+ students to bring their book packets in and they'll get a reward; a Twinkie. We get these blank stares. I ask if they know what a twinkie is. "No". Okay, do any of them know what a Ho Ho or Ding Dong is? Another blank stare with "No". I was in shock! How does a kid get to be 10,11,12 years old and not know what a twinkie is? Or Ho Ho or Ding Dong? I even asked if anyone had had a SnowBall? You know the pink ones? We even described these to them trying to jar their memory. Nope, not a clue. So, guess what tomorrow is? Yep, learning what a twinkie is and discussing the joys of eating one. Oh this should be fun! But how the heck does this happen? Someone please explain this to me. My aide and I just can't believe it! And I thought I lead a sheltered life as a kid. <br />Bassy

kenimpzoom

Rear Admiral
Re: How does this happen?

Those are "old school" snacks.<br /><br />I just asked my 9 yr old and he didnt remember them either until I described them.<br /><br />They mostly eat chips and cookies now days.<br /><br />Ken

TilliamWe

Banned

Yeah, maybe it's good that they don't know what twinkies are?? But if kids are as fat as I hear, what the heck are they eating, if it's not twinkies?? You mean, there is worse stuff out there than that???

wilkin250r

Chief Petty Officer

It's the overly-protective world we live in. Isn't it child abuse and endagerment to feed your kid sugary snacks? Maybe these parents don't want CPS called on them for neglecting their children's nutrition.<br /><br />Be careful feeding twinkies to your students, Bassy, you could end up in a lawsuit for contributing to deliquency of minors...

Trent

Captain