How do you do your taxes?

Tyme2fish

Commander
This is not an endorsement, but I've been using TaxCut Deluxe for 5 years. I'm a salaried employee with a few capital gains and stock sells so my taxes are pretty simple.<br />The first year I used it I had a brokerage account that fairly well "churned" buys and sells. When I found out I had to list each separately with dates bought/sold basis cost, etc I freaked. How am I going to figure this out on the old paper forms. Found Taxcut and life has been good since. Also get one free Federal E-file out of it.<br />I use it to do my son's taxes and even some of the wife's kinfolk. It's just "plug and chug".

Drowned Rat

Captain
Re: How do you do your taxes?

I use TurboTax and it comes with free state tax software. Also, everything you enter in the Federal part transfers over to the state form, so you don't have to enter everything twice. It also keeps information current year to year so you don't have to re-enter stuff every year either. <br /><br />Makes my life a lot easier.

tcube

Petty Officer 1st Class

Turbo Tax for many years.

Tyme2fish

Commander

Thanks for the replies. I have accounts at Merrill Lynch that Turbo Tax will download and put on the forms. Might try that next year

Twidget

Commander

I use my wife. She was in tax accounting for 14 years before changing professions.

Laddies

Banned

The last few years I use a profession Bookkeeper, I wish I would have started years ago they certainly have saved me much more than they charge---Bob

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Used TurboTax for a while, switched to TaxCut. Switched back to Turbotax after one year.

jinx

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Turbo Tax for business and personal

Sea Six

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Turbo Tax for me, for several years now.

Kenneth Brown

Captain