homebuilt and converted trailers Wa state registration

waverace

Recruit
Hi guys new to the forum and had a question about trailers , I realise that state rules vary quite a bit , so to start with I live in WA state , I have a couple of trailers that have no titles , have never been registered to me , without standing in line at the dmv and being told that there is nothing I can do how do I go about getting them registered ?
Secondly as I am a welder would it be possible to build and register my own trailer ? or convert for example a camper trailer chassis to a boat trailer ?
The physical conversion holds no problems for me but the whole legal paperwork part mystifies me , any help , advice , warnings etc much appreciated , oh and yes I am a skinflint (-: but not by choice , darn economy.
Thanks in advance

BigB9000

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: homebuilt and converted trailers Wa state registration

here is my thread about it:

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=252054&highlight=trailer

It was quite easy.

The trailer was quite obvious that it was a production trailer, I removed all the stickers, and signs, and painted it with some rustoleum. While doing that I noticed the Serial numbers, I grinded thoes down, bondo'd over it, and sanded smooth. then painted.

I told the DMV that- the guy that I bought it from made it from other trailer parts. And he never registered it.

They didnt care, went and looked at it, and slaped a VIN sticker on it.

waverace

Recruit

Sounds too easy , dont think the WA DMV is that easy going , but I have friends in CA maybe they could do that for me then "sell" me the trailer so that I can get it registered here , long way to drive though with a trailer on the back of the truck .

BigB9000

Lieutenant Junior Grade