Hi Dhadley & Crew- Questions on rebuilding engine

Sal G

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi Crew- I've come to a crossroad in rebuilding this 85 Evinrude with a detonated piston.<br />The parts + bore are not unreasonable but the <br />labor costs to dissamble the engine would be extremely high. Everyone I consulted with said it wouldn't be worth the $ I needed to spend. So..... though I am not a mechanic, but I have a friend who is very good with car engines- should we try to do this job ourselves? How difficult? How long should a job like this take? I do have a Clymers manual<br />but since I'm not a mechanic (graphic designer- made this 77 Formula look like its 1997) I find it hard to follow because I don't know how to identify the parts. I'm very visual- can see how its done once and can duplicate it. Is it out of the question? Can I work at the dock or do I have to haul the boat out of the water? Would there be a trillion parts laying around or do most parts <br />come out as large units? <br />Weighing the option of another engine but I think this engine still has plenty of life in her PLUS<br />that would mean we are talking new controls, <br />electronics, etc. I DO believe that with proper care these engines will outlast you. What I experienced was not due to neglect but not catching<br />the problem in time because of lack of experience.<br />I sure a lot wiser now!<br /><br />Thanks again,<br />Sal G

wilde1j

Vice Admiral
Re: Hi Dhadley & Crew- Questions on rebuilding engine

I would suggest considering a rebuilt powerhead (this website $2200 to 2600). You would be in business quickly ... if you or your friend have never rebuilt an outboard, the learning curve can be steep (and expensive). You could probably handle replacing the powerhead. You need to know exactly why the other failed. If it was lean running, the carbs need to be rebuilt as well.

Sal G

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Average time to rebuild?

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner