HELP ! Compression on 87 Johnson 50hp VRO.

skelly

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 87 50hp VRO Johnson that has rough idle problems, I have been messing with it for the last 3 years, I have rebuild carbs 3 times changed plugs 2 times- champion QL77JC4 - Using fresh fuel - use decarb foam spring-fall & mid season sence new. Had sink & link done twice in the last 3 years. Changed thurmostat last week it was stuck open, used decarb again, this helped a little, going to check reeds next! also checked compression again it is 145psi on both cylinders!! Dose this sound right, can't find comp psi in my manual.<br /> THANKS!! SKELLY. :eek:

Skyhigh

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: HELP ! Compression on 87 Johnson 50hp VRO.

Your Compression sounds great....<br /><br />I wish i had 145 on my cylinders.

OBJ

Supreme Mariner

AMEN to the 145 compression.<br /><br />Skelly....do you notice any puffing from the carbs at idle? The carbs should suck air in all the time and NOT blow out. Hold a light piece of toilet tissue (unused) in front of each carb while it's at idle. If either carb wants to blow out the tissue, the reeds may be damaged or sprung from the reed plate.<br /><br />Also make sure that ALL fuel connections are tight. Strange thing, a fuel connection can suck air in when it won't leak gas out. (still working on that one)<br /><br />Keep us posted....Thanks.

clanton

Rear Admiral

There was a kit for the fuel pump, had 2 o-rings and nipple for fuel line, to solve air leaks, one of problems is cheap o-rings, swell when gas gets on them, then will not reseal. Worth a look, but dont think your engine problem. When you do sync and link, check all small plastic rollers, if the clear plastic sleeve is missing, the timing will move around between 4/5 degrees.

skelly

Seaman Apprentice