Help - 1990 Evinrude 110HP Outboard.

simon_canada

Cadet
This friday I will be looking at a 1990 Doral Bowrider with a 110 Evinrude outboard on the back.<br /><br />The boat looks like a beauty, but want to make sure the engine is up to snuff as well!<br /><br />What I am curious to find out (as I am relatively new to boating - spent more of my time in the car world) is:<br /><br />a) What are the general specs for this engine - or where could I find them?<br /><br />b) What kind of compression should I expect from this upon testing?<br /><br />c) Any big things to look out for on this engine?(beside the obvious compression, oil check, physical condition, etc.)<br /><br />ANY HELP you can provide would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks in advance for helping a real NEWBIE!!!<br /><br /> -- Simon

CATransplant

Admiral
Re: Help - 1990 Evinrude 110HP Outboard.

The compression should be even across all cylinders, within about 10%. <br /><br />More important would be to get a test ride on this boat, if at all possible. Depending on how much you're thinking about paying, that seems like an essential.<br /><br />I wouldn't buy any boat that cost over about $2K without seeing it perform on the water. Without seeing the engine perform under load, it's pretty much impossible to say whether it's working right or not.<br /><br />On the water, it should start easily and perform smoothly through its entire range, plane the boat out smartly, and reach a very good speed. No missing or hesitating.<br /><br />The boat controls should all operate smoothly. The boat should not porpoise at high speed, and it should sit evenly on the water, with no listing to one side or the other. It should turn well in both directions.<br /><br />Good luck with your prospective purchase.

reeldutch

Lieutenant