have a '90 johnson with a few probs!!

JimmyDeb

Cadet
I have a 40hp johnson on a tracker boat.I have a few ?'s about some probs and any help would save me a trip to the marina!!!!---Ok first off i am a Mechanic so i should be able to handle any work but i have never NEVER liked 2 cycle motors!!(weedeaters can make me say those words that only mechanics know!)---what i am running into is this is my first boat!got it from my mother for christmas.----ok first prob is when i start the motor it will run for a second then shut off--it doesnt matter if i have the speed up or not!(now the thing i must say is when i pump the bulb till it gets hard i have a little gas that seeps out out of the top of the fuel pump--since this is my first boat is there a like a pressure relief on top?it doesnt look cracked!---other ? is around my prop i have a muddy looking oil coming out of it--this is an exhuast out the prop motor---i did just cange the crankcase oil--and the oil doesnt smell like crankcase oil?!?so i unhooked the injection oil line and i dont see any water in it!this is a distubing looking oil to me!---<br /><br />----------------------------------summary is cause i know i can confuse when i type!---------------1)Engine dying a few secs after starting.2)watery oil leaking from around prop.<br /><br />--------------thanks for the help!!!!JimmyD!

ob

Admiral
Re: have a '90 johnson with a few probs!!