Hand Laid Vs. Chopped

bigD1031

Seaman Apprentice
Hey all, have yet another question.............

What is everyones opinion on hand laid fiberglass vs. chopped fiberglass hulls? I know a lot of peoples opinions differ but why? Is there any way when you look at a hull that you can tell if it used a hand laid + chopped construction? Looking into the boat I am considering buying I called the company and they said they used both on their hulls.

Thanks for the info.

D

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Hand Laid Vs. Chopped

I'm not a fiberglass expert but as I understand it choppers are not as strong as hand laid and are more difficult to repair.
This is only a guess but I would think a hand laid boat would have a descernable woven pattern visable in some areas.Not just in reforced sections.I'm sure someone will be along with more specific info.

tommays

Admiral

I have owned and old chopper gun sportcraft tri and it did not fall apart BUT i have also owned a Loyds approved hand laid/balsa cored SailBoat :D

There was a very LARGE difference in quality yet both boats worked perfect in there intended tasks ;)

Tommays

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

The handlayed fiberglass results in long strands of fiberglass versus short (1/2") strands of glass which is stuck together w/resin. Think of the analogy of regular plywood versus particle or oriented strand plywood. The particle board will snap significantly easier than the regular plywood. The OSB is somewhere in between.

Now you could likely make a chopped glass boat as strong as a hand layed one, but it would have to be significantly heavier.

Solittle

Fleet Admiral

Many boats will have both methods used in their construction. Chopper guns are typically used for other than hull parts where strength is not the main consideration. Chopper layed fiberglass requires significantly less labor to apply. Some manufacturer's of small inexpensive boats wil use the chopper gun for the hull as well. Again it is a cost thing.