Gimbal & U Joint Bearing

PT

Seaman
I have a 1987 capri Bayliner 3.0 GM 4 cylinder OMC cobra drive.Their is a fitting on the left side I belive this is for lubricating the Gimbal bearing\U Joint bearing or both.If this is correct, when i tried to put grease in it it would not take any so i removed the fitting to find it stopped up, also the grease in it was not hard but appreared to be semi hard , so i removed all i could by pushing a rod about same size causing it to ooze out past rod.I put grease fitting bac in & applied grease but it seemed it only took what i squeezed out.I applied pressure to grease gun but didnt feel like it was accepting any. How can i know for sure it is greased properly with out taking the drive off.I have never done this before & really dont want too..

sea wolf

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Gimbal & U Joint Bearing

that fitting will grease the gimbal bearing only, not the u-joints. for that u have to pull the lower unit. u should grease the u-joints once a season. it's not that difficult, but you'll need a new housing gasket. if u need advice on how to do it post back. i just pulled mine not an hour ago. i have the same setup as yours.

PT

Seaman

Thxs SeaWolf for your reply..I have had this boat for 3 years,When i 1st brought the boat i had a mechanic replace all the seals in lower unit, I assume he made sure everything was ok but what got me concerned was i read where these need to be greased every year.I do Mechanical & Electrical work but never done much work on a boat.That Gimbal grease fitting it should take grease & eny excess i apply to it shold run out of the bearing right, now can i see where the grease would over run if i put too much in, just so i know its getting grease, Maybe talk to ya later about removing out drive if needed , lord i hope not ..

PT@work

Cadet

Also you said you pulled yours off a hour ago, about how long does it take to pull it off & back on. just a rough estimate

6MISFITZ

Petty Officer 1st Class