Fuel question(s)

jitterbug127

Chief Petty Officer
Jitterbug, Production outboards are designed to run on regular fuel. There is no advantage to using premium fuel. Of course, your wallet will be lighter, so maybe you will go a bit faster.
I've read so many things over years about octanes and ethanol vs ethanol free gas. It seems like one of those things where lots of people have lots of opinions on it. I admit I am no expert on the subject. I just try to avoid as many problems as I can. I tend to find problems on the water anyways. :) I run a little 25 hp on the river (now, was 15 previously) and never use more than 1 gallon on a fishing trip. I also have a 1/2 acre that requires a little mowing, edging trimming etc. I probably bought less than 30 gallons of gas for my boat and all my engines all of last year. Over the course of a summer I'm looking at spending another $20-$30 (heck even over estimating double that $40-$60) for the higher premium.

If i had a big boat and was actually running a lake I think i would be much more inclined to get the 87.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Also, if you have an older motor, do as recommended and replace all fuel lines/ hoses with ethanol rated lines. When E fuels were first introduced it was highly recommended to replace existing hoses to alcohol rated hoses and add extra fuel filters to catch or trap all the crud that the alcohol broke loose as it cleaned the system. Stations were also told to add filters to the pump s to trap crud from the tanks inground, in many states they were required new tanks for E fuel storage. How many folks actually listened and followed these recommendations ??? And we wonder why E fuel gas gotten a bad name ??
Thats what I said, but Chris said its propaganda.
Calling it propaganda, doesn't make it propaganda.

The studies came out of MN, and I believe MO.

airshot

Rear Admiral
Thats what I said, but Chris said its propaganda.
Calling it propaganda, doesn't make it propaganda.