fuel mileage

azzkiker

Recruit
Im new at outboards and pontoon boats, I have a question on fuel mileage. I have a 1997 Crest Sport 22 foot with a Mercury 60 hp big foot 14 inch prop 10 pitch WOT 5400 rpm with one person.
The motor runs great 125psi in all three cylinders but this thing uses fuel like crazy, it has two 12 gallon tanks. I can put in and travel to a sand bar approx. 7 miles away with four adults on board running about 5000 rpm not wide open. In this distance it will burn about 6gallons does this sound normal? After a couple trips im looking for more fuel, Its nothing to burn 24 gallons in a day.

ahicks

Captain
Think 4 stroke. My 90 Honda w/carbs won't use 24 gallons in an entire season. Fuel injected motors do even better and run great - until they don't......

Another thought too. While pontoons are absolutely great, I've had one for the last 40 years or so, when you've got a favorite destination that's an hour or more away (one way), suggest you have a look at deck boats. They cruise just as well, and can cover much more ground when you're in a hurry. An outboard powered (stay with that 4 stoke thought) 20-22 footer is often the best of both worlds. My thought anyway, FWIW. -Al

Earl Cordova

Petty Officer 2nd Class
At my normal cruising speed of 32mph I get 2.5 gal/mile or 12 gallons/hour.
My last boat was a 4.3L in a 18 foot cuddy cabin at 28mph and got 3.5 gal/mile.

Rabbit929

Seaman
My 90F 4 stroke yamaha 21ft sylvan seems to pretty darn fuel efficient, but at WOT it doesnt hesitate to chew up gas when heavily loaded and towing a tube.