Freshening up a Volvo 280...

AZ_Ron

Seaman Apprentice
Hi All... We've got a Volvo 280 outdrive on our new (to us) boat. It's powered by a 302 Ford. Everything seems to work, outdrive seems to work normally, no noise, clicking, growling, anything like that. The P/O had not gone through anything as the owner prior to him had given him a long list of what he'd done. The outdrive has not been gone through for at least a season. I'm figuring I'd be ahead of the game by freshing is up, replacing Orings, bellows, etc. I'm a very competent mechanic and technician and don't have any qualms about doing it myself. I got a Clymers manual with the boat, but am going to by the factory manuals before I take the first bolt out.
I guess my main questions are...
1) What parts would you all recommend I purchase as normal replacement parts? (This is barring the need for replacing anything with 'serious' wear, just the 'normal' stuff)
2) Would it be to my advantage to convert to synthetic oils/greases, or go with the usual Volvo recommended lubricants?

Any advice, good or bad, is GREATLY appreciated. I LOVE forums, as they have saved me HUGE amounts of grief and cash!!!
Thanks so much to ALL of you for being here!!! ;)

Ron

jastacey

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Freshening up a Volvo 280...