Force 90 cooling

To ploion mou

Recruit
Extreme novice here; I have a force 90 that might be having some cooling problems. This is only my second year with the boat and last year when I was prepping for the summer I lowered my motor into a container of water that fully submerged the intakes. If I recall correctly when I ran the motor I had both water and exhaust coming out the two holes on the prop side of the motor about half way up. This year while prepping I noticed only exhaust coming out and after 10 minutes of running the motor I noticed smoke coming off the engine area and it smelled like the engine was getting hot. Is it possible that there is a blockage in the recirculation of water to cool the engine. If so what is the fix? Unfortunately I do not have a manual for this motor. Any help is appreciated.

scottmm73

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Force 90 cooling

When you purchased the boat/motor did you replace the impeller? If not, that would be my first guess. Replace the impeller.

foodfisher

Captain

OH OH, definately a new impeller and deeper in the bucket next time. Hopefully that's all.

To ploion mou

Recruit

When you purchased the boat/motor did you replace the impeller? If not, that would be my first guess. Replace the impeller.

Wow! Amazing! After posting this I went on youtube and found a video talking about impellers and it showed me how to replace one. I went out and disassembled the lower half of my engine and discovered my impeller was just a round piece of rubber sitting in a pool of rubber fragments. Now, two hour later, I have ordered a replacement "sierra" aftermarket impeller from iboats and it is on its way!

This is a great community! As I am dragging my kids around the lake this summer I will remember to be thankful for this resource!

Thanks so much!

To ploion mou

Recruit

OH OH, definately a new impeller and deeper in the bucket next time. Hopefully that's all.