Following up your advice!

OK I "Really" like the idea of not jumping on the rebuiled wagon right away. So I went out and took a look at the 1974 85hp Johnny. After lookin around I found some lose screws, tightened them (duh). But after taking the intake cover off the carbs, I found the gasket disformed,(will replace asap), but there is oily residue all over the front of motor and in the water trap in the boat. I know this can not be right,(or is it?) being green it has to be from carbs or fuel lines, right? And the fuel lines have zip ties for hose clamps (probably the source of leaks.) But can this have anything to do with the reduction in power? low end is fine, but high rpm's are just not there with any real load in the boat. Maybe a carb rebuild? I would think that a 85hp motor would be able to carry a couple of passengers and a ski'er but LOL no way :( . Is 35 a good speed for my boat? 1974 slickcraft 17ft Tri-haul w/"74" 85hp Johnson? As you can probably tell Im a newbie. But learnin quick ;)

ezeke

Supreme Mariner
Re: Following up your advice!

Hi Hoosier,<br /><br />You can easily check to see if your fuel leak is from the fuel lines by putting a little steady pressure on the primer bulb and watching the lines with the engine off. <br /><br />It will help everyone if you don't jump your thread, so please don't introduce a new topic each time, just go back to the original topic and tell everyone what you are doing. <br /><br />BTW, if you pull skiers, you might want to lower the pitch on your prop a bit, it may solve your problem.<br /><br />Good luck!

Sorry, new to this since the change of forum style