First ever overnighter: Cape Lookout NC camping/astronomy

jumpjets

Petty Officer 1st Class
http://www.nps.gov/calo/planyourvisit/boating.htm

WARNING: I'm still a novice boater. I've only owned a boat for a few months.

I'd like to do an overnight camping trip to Cape lookout NC. Ideally, I'd like to drop my boat in at a ramp in Moorehead or Beaufort NC, and head out to the cape on my boat, then anchor on the beach and spend the night. I'm bringing a high powered telescope, so my plan is to head out in the late afternoon, be all setup before sunset, and spend most of the night looking at stars and nebulas. I'd like to sleep in the boat when I finally get tired, and leave the next morning. The light pollution there is some of the lowest in the region:

http://www.jshine.net/astronomy/dar...65625&zoom=10&pollution=true&selected_id=1083

An experienced friend of mine is going to take me to cape lookout on his boat very soon, and show me the way, since the waters there are very challenging. However, when I go for the overnight trip, I'd like to end up on the southside tip of the banks. Is that possible due to the surf? Do I need to stay on the northern area, near lookout bight?

What other considerations are there for boat camping? OBTW, my wife is coming, and while she likes astronomy, she doesn't like camping.

-boat has a toilet
-all food/drinks will be brought in a cooler.
-lots of bug spray will be brought, along with citronelly candles.
-pillows/blankets for sleeping in the cuddy cabin.
-full 50 gallon fuel tank on the boat prior to departure.
-tool kit on board.
-all lights, pumps, and other equip are in good working order.
-emergency battery jumper will be on board.
-cell phone reception is available on the island.
-what else can you think of?

Here is the boat I'll be on. It has a merc 5.7 alpha 1.
27298345465.jpg

rbh

Fleet Admiral
Re: First ever overnighter: Cape Lookout NC camping/astronomy

First is always the best, LOL!!!!!