First boat!!!

AZ_Ron

Seaman Apprentice
We finally bought our first boat.
1972 Glencoe 17.5' Open Bow I/O.
Ford 302/Volvo 280

Beautiful shape for the age. Engine is sound, gone through recently. EVERYTHING works. Hull is good, floor is good, upholstery is excellent. Very well taken care of. This will be a learning experience for me. The family (wife, son, 3 daughters) are all stoked!
Anyone have any advice/tips on this engine/outdrive , or any advice in general, anything is appreciated!!! A bit nervous, but I'm a competent mechanic and tinkerer and have always had a love for all things mechanical!

Ron

Zackman

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: First boat!!!

We finally bought our first boat.
The family (wife, son, 3 daughters) are all stoked!

Hmmm, wonder why the whole family is stoked? Could it because Dad is so excited?

Anyone have any advice/tips on this engine/outdrive , or any advice in general, anything is appreciated!!! A bit nervous, but I'm a competent mechanic and tinkerer and have always had a love for all things mechanical!

Put her in the water and make sure she floats before the wife and kids get in... Seriously, take it out for a while and make sure no water is getting into the bilge and that everything is working okay and that you feel comfortable with the boat before introducing the family factor. Maybe get a buddy to help you launch for the first time and check everything out.

There are also some good online boat safety courses available for the novice boat owner. Always good to know the rules of the "road" before getting underway.

Good luck, be safe, and have fun...

AZ_Ron

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks Zackman!! I think the wife is the MOST excited. Kids are excited we'll be able to tow them!
I tend to be pretty cautious and will make sure things are good before I put the family in it.