First Boat Got ?????

DSsam

Recruit
Hello,<br /> Im new here, Im looking to get a boat. I live near Lake Huron in Mi. I found a 1989 Four Winns Freedom 160 w/ 3.0 omc drive (is this a good motor?). for $3000. seats need replaced, the out drive was rebuilt. all else looks ok. what should I look for and what questions should I ask? Im completely New to this<br />are these style of boats ez to work on?<br />Im up in the air about getting a I/o Or a out drive is the real difference just a preference on what one likes?<br />any advice would be great!! <br />what years did the cobra drive start? I heard these were the better drives <br /><br />Thanks in advance.

TilliamWe

Banned
Re: First Boat Got ?????

I know others will probably feel different, but I personally would never buy an OMC of any kind. (Stringer drive or Cobra drive). Not that they are junk, they aren't. But getting parts for them is difficult at best. And expensive!<br />Mercruiser or Volvo Penta are the current manufacturers of sterndrive systems. Stick to them if possible.<br />As far as the 3.0 engine, do a search on here & you'll find the most common "problems" with them. From the post I started, it seems that they are a good engine, a lot of them out there, and they tend to be in a lot of "first time" boats. Best of luck

murphini

Petty Officer 2nd Class