Finding a GOOD boat MECHANIC

denniz

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Thought this would be a interesting topic for Boat owners.I have been a boat mechanic for 25 Years.(Iknow alot of you have been doing it for150 years) My suggestions for finding a GOOD boat mechanic are.... Find a dealer who specializes on what you own. Im a Merc master Tech, I work on Everything but Merc is my specialty. Look for certificates on the wall, This is a indication your mechanic is committed to learning about the NEW PRODUCTS.Joes lawnmower and boat repair doesnt cut it. If you can find a commision mechanic. WHY? Because a commissioned mechanic doesnt make money if you dont bring your boat in.Most actually care about you and your boat because they want your buisness. I know my attitude has changed since I went commission. So has the paychecks. Anyway Im sure someone will correct me if Im wrong or misspelled anything. Any other hints for Finding a good Mechanic will be appreciated by someone.D

SpinnerBait_Nut

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Finding a GOOD boat MECHANIC

RK, I own nothing but Gray and Black and I always do most of it myself, but if it is something I am not familiar with or not up to par on, I take it to my mechanic which is a Master Tech for them.<br /><br />He also just gets paid for what he fixes and he knows all his customers by first name and not just another dollar sign.<br /><br />He might be a little higher in price for his work, but the old saying holds true in this area, "You get what you pay for" :)

Throbbin Rods

Petty Officer 1st Class

Back in the early 70's my auto shop teacher told me something that I have never forgotten. "Quality of the work is remembered long after price is forgotten" Hire the best guy you can find - price just shouldn't be a factor. I don't want soem wannabe working on my boat.car.truck,ATV/anything else just to save a few bucks. I want THE MAN!<br />just my .01

denniz

Senior Chief Petty Officer