Evinrude 8hp ID and Other Help Please

Vlads Quiff

Seaman Apprentice
Hi<br />As part of a late mid-life crisis I have brought a used Zodiac 3.1 Fastroller with an 8hp Evinrude two stroke off ebay, just to mess around in (withing rowing distance of any shore), with my boys.<br />I have no experience in boats or outboards at all.<br />The model number is E8RET and serial number B 8981324.<br />I would like to know some technical spec on the engine. How old it is , if this is proven engine , ease to work on and obtain parts etc.<br />Advise on basic maintenance would also be much appreciated.<br />One specific question the throttle does not spring back and self return, should it?<br />Thanks in anticipation.<br />VQ

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral
Re: Evinrude 8hp ID and Other Help Please

Welcome to iboats. :) <br /><br />1993.<br /><br />The throttle won't return to idle by itself. Boat motors have always been that way for some reason. There's a light spring to bring the butterfly closed, but you can't feel it. Generally they're as bullet-proof a motor as you can get. Never run it out of the water, always remember to add oil to the gas. Since you won't use-up the gas too often, always use stabilizer too. Most any part you'd need is still available.

Vlads Quiff

Seaman Apprentice

Wow that was quick,thanks Willy.<br />I did run it for a minute or two out of water, I hope that won't have done any lasting harm.<br />What is Stabaliser...is there a general name for this engine ?<br />I have only ever been involved in four stroke engines before, how does the crank get lubed, how does the cooling system work etc....so many questions sorry.<br /><br />regards and best wishes from the UK anyway

Xcusme

Commander