Evinrude 2hp Steam Engine

rupertmja

Seaman
OK, I'm fairly new to outboards but have now rubuilt three 2hps and was beginning to think it was easy until today, on my 4th. Basically, someone put a small telltale pipe on the exhaust plate. I rebuilt the engine, cleaned all the insides, new gaskets, new pump etc, and blocked off the telltale as I didn't think I'd need it. Started it up and it was getting hot and no water coming out the four holes on the back. Hmm. OK, so I refitted the teltale pipe. Water came gushing out for 20 secs than, les and less, then, steam. Pulled the powerhead, head, cleaned everything, rebuilt it, twice, same result. The only thing I can think it to be is that the water is leaking out back down the pipe somehow before it gets up into the engine - so I have changed the entire leg for a spare I had but something tells me it will not work - have to wait till tomorrow now. Oh, and I checked that the pump works - my method was to connect an old crankshaft to my electric drill to drive the leg - worked great. Anyone been here before? I need ideas to turn my steam engine into a normal one. Baffled, Rupert

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Evinrude 2hp Steam Engine

Can't say for sure that this is it, but suspect an exhaust leak into the water pump. Running it on a drill, there is no exhaust so no leak into the pump. Likewise, when you first start it there is no exhaust.

Again, not sure about the 2hp, but many larger motors have a water bleed hole from the pump outlet, keeping the well around the drive shaft full of water so exhaust cant blow into the pump through the drive shaft hole.

Attachments

• Water Pump Bleed Hole.jpg
    Water Pump Bleed Hole.jpg
    22.6 KB · Views: 0

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus