esa not working!

ke_kahuna

Cadet
Aloha frm hawaii!
I got a 86 omc cobra 4.3 runs good just can't get the shiift assist to work!
if I manually activate,or use shifter it doesn't change rpm?
here r my #s that I got with my mutimeter
purple wire@ starter 4 volts,+on coil 4 volts, purrple wire connector to esa 11.36
points closed key on engine not running
resistor wire getting really warm almost hot so I turn off switch quickly!
Grounds clean,checked overstroke and interrupter swith ohm ok
is it the esa module?
thanks
tom

john744

Seaman Apprentice
Re: esa not working!

Aloha Brother !!!

I am NO EXPERT and have learned a lot through trial & error. Since you've received no other responses, I'll try & help. First, I hope you have a manual. Factory is best but Seloc or Clymer is better than nothing. Second, ABSOLUTE MUST READING for Cobra oweners is Stuart Hastings Cobra Web Site. This explains the whole Cobra shifting problem history & offers excellent insight into the theory, whys and hows of the shifting system & the ESA module.

Your #s on the starter and coil sound really low. As for the resistor wire, I don't believe it should get so hot as to be alarming. Perhaps there is a short somewhere that account for the voltage drop and high current in the resistor wire.

First, check your points. Place a small piece of this cardboard or some other insulator between the points to keep the circuit open. Don't forget to remove it when done. Check your voltages.

Here are some diagrams I hopew will help

Cobra%20Engine%20Wiring.gif

The ESA module has 2 connectors. Unplug the smaller of the two (2 wires). This remove the ESA from the circuit. Recheck your voltage measurements. If the jump back up closer to 12, youve got a blown module.

If removing the ESA from the circuit does the trick, there is no fix, only replacement. Be sure to get the correct unit for they are different for 4 Cyl, 6 Cyl, and 8 Cyl engines