Engine question

nmhellraiser

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Like I stated in my previous thread, I'm a newbie to the boating world so don't bash me too hard. Here's my question, I have a 77 evinrude 115 that is giving me nothing but hell so I'm thinking of going with a 85 Merc. My boat is probably about 800lbs w/o passengers. I want to be able to pull a skier and go across the water about 30mph. Do you'll think the Merc is capable of this? Let me know what you'll think.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner
Re: Engine question

Like I stated in my previous thread, I'm a newbie to the boating world so don't bash me too hard. Here's my question, I have a 77 evinrude 115 that is giving me nothing but hell so I'm thinking of going with a 85 Merc. My boat is probably about 800lbs w/o passengers. I want to be able to pull a skier and go across the water about 30mph. Do you'll think the Merc is capable of this? Let me know what you'll think.

Yes if it is set up and propped correctly. It will also depend on your hull shape etc.
What was it capable of with the 115 hp ????

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

you think you have trouble with the rude. wait till you start working on a merc. thats why i have all omc engines now.

nmhellraiser

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Everytime I turn around it's something new. First was wiring then timing then carbs even went through a set of plugs before it was running. Now I'm down to the thermostat and impeller. I broke the t-stat housing last night so now have to get a new one. Is it possible to run w/o a t-stat? Don't see what it would hurt. Just have a cooler engine that takes longer to warm up. Anyways, like I said I think I've just invested in a new anchor.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner