end of the rope

jroberts24

Cadet
Hi guys,<br /><br />I have talked about this motor that I have multiple time on this forum, but I am now at the end of my rope. I purchased a QD-16 1955 Johnson 10hp. I probably has less than 5 hours on it. When I first got it, it cranked up and ran for about 15 min, then died all of a sudden. It sat up for a while and there was gunk in the carb. I could not find any outboard mechanic in my area that would touch it. So, I purchased a owners manual and a service manual and decided to work on it myself. I am no outboard mechanic by far, but I can do most minor stuff. I changed the water pump impeller first, because it sat up for awhile. Then I purchased a carb kit and installed it. I set every thing to service manual specifications. I put new plugs in it and gaped the points correctly. As of right now, I have great fire and fuel getting to the carb. My tank is staying pressurized good and it is hooked directly to the carb. The engine has good compression. It will crank and run smooth for about 5 sec., then will die. If I keep pulling on it, it will not crank again. If I let it sit for awhile, it will crank again and die. Also, if I continue to try and start it, gas will drip out of the intake of the carb with breather off. The spark plugs are damp with gas if not dry. Got fire, must be gas right? I really like this motor, i really don't want to turn it into a flower bed center piece. I have a lot of time invested in it. The problem with this motor, is either really simple (I'm over-looking it) or it is beyond my knowledge of 2 cycle engines. Any help would be much appreciated. Should I cut my losses now or continue investigate the problem.<br /><br />Thanks,<br />jroberts :confused:

petryshyn

Commander
Re: end of the rope