electric outboards pro & cons

starrider_68

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I live near a fair size set of lakes but they wont allow gas outboards. I have seen some storys on "electric outboards" and was wondering how well they work. In these lakes a "trolling" moter just wont hack it. I have just recived an old "jon boat" from a friend....A little abused but serviceable. Looking to take this on the lakes and "scoot" about w/ the kids. Wife 3.0 wants to help but neither of us have seen / used an electric outboard, and I am an electrician! Your help in this WILL be appricated.

starrider_68

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: electric outboards pro & cons

JB just checking...am I in the right spot? If not let me know...Thanks!

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

"Scooting about" is often frowned upon on no-gas-engine lakes, Starrider, and "electric outboards" use up even big batteries very fast.<br /><br />I would think about a good set of oars or an efficient electric troller, or both.<br /><br />Good luck. :)

rolmops

Vice Admiral

I always thought that the perfect scooting about tool is a sail.

18rabbit

Captain

You could do what the military is doing. Probably fit right between the regulation and really **** off the park police. The vehicles that are replacing the hum”v” are electric and very quiet. They have an electric motor on each of the four wheels. No drive train, no axels. You would have an electric motor on your boat to scoot about with. Then there is a small diesel engine inside the vehicle to turn the charging system that constantly feeds power to the batteries that supply the motors. You could have a small gas generator to constantly feed your battery. Might even name a new law after you. :D

starrider_68

Petty Officer 3rd Class