eaton interceptor swap w/ mercruiser?

dka1ser

Seaman Apprentice
Hi, I'm new to this part of the forum, used to hang out in Mercury OB's, but just sold it to get a classic 64' chriscraft with a ford 260 V8/eaton outdrive. <br /><br />This outdrive is rather dated (works though) and has no tilt/trim, etc.. I have two questions:<br /><br />1) Could I swap this outdrive with a Mercruiser, without TOO much headache, yes I know it pain and I'm putting a new transom in boat already, so I'm prepared for work. Did mercruiser make drives to fix the ford 260? What all would I need to buy?<br /><br />2) Would it just be better off to swap in a whole mercruiser engine/drive setup? Parts might be impossible to find for the Ford engine (manifolds, risers if they rust out,etc) If so, how hard is it to do an entire swap for engine & drive? Again, I'm not afraid of labor, just have never owned a stern drive before, but many outboards. <br /><br />Thanks in advance for any advice!

tommays

Admiral
Re: eaton interceptor swap w/ mercruiser?

my friend had the same drive and motor on a 16 ft donzi<br /><br />if merc ever used the 260 ford ? you would need everything from the donor boat which means you would still be putting some pretty old stuff back in the boat<br /><br />its hard not to use things like the orginal type of merc exaust manifolds because the way they connect and what might be mounted to them can be very hard to change<br /><br />i would be looking for something with at least a GEN I drive because thers so much of it around<br /><br /><br />tommays

dka1ser

Seaman Apprentice

SO I take it I'm back to where I figured I was, at some point it needs a new engine/outdrive installed. So I should be looking for a Alpha Gen 1, I want to keep the V8 in it, so at least a 305 (888) will do.. <br /><br />Is the swap of a whole engine/drive terribly too difficult? I figure I'll need new motor mounts in the boat, and I want to keep the thru-hull exhaust. <br /><br />Thanks again!