Driving Boat on Trailer

Equis

Cadet
Hello,<br /><br />I am new to boating and am wanting to learn how to drive the boat on the trailer, it is built for this.<br /><br />I tried it once but it seemed the bow of the boat would lift really high when I powered on (so the stern drops) this went smooth but I was worried about hitting the prop on the bottom.<br /><br />When the boat is on teh trailer with the outboard down it doesn't touch the ground (bout 2 inchs off)<br /><br />Do you have the outboard on tilt when you drive on?<br /><br />Normally I have the trailer in so the wheels are just over halfway covered with water, this works well for winching on & off, maybee I should go deeper when driving on or off?<br /><br />Thanks<br /><br />Rhys :)

umblecumbuz

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Driving Boat on Trailer

Equis,<br /><br />You'll get a whole load of varying responses to this question. Plenty of previous threads, too.<br /><br />It's gotta vary with boat/trailer/ramp setup. I hate getting my vehicle undersides wet (salt water), so I reverse to the water's edge, unhook the towhitch having first put a line from ballhitch round trailer winchpost and back - with the free end in my hand - then ease the trailer down by paying out the line till boat floats. Engine half raised. (Mine's a light boat on a light trailer. Can't do this with big rigs - too heavy.)<br /><br />Reverse procedure to recover boat, powering on gently with engine half raised, pulling trailer out of the water with line tied to both trailer and vehicle, then rehitching trailer.<br /><br />Sounds complicated, but keeps vehicle dry, works every time, and takes minutes only. I've noticed that others are starting to copy this method locally.<br /><br />Ciao

Maximerc

Petty Officer 1st Class