Does 2inches above bottom make difference for Trim Tabs?

mydogmax

Cadet
I just installed my Smart Tabs on my 15 foot Klamath Aluminum boat. Due to the position of my kicker and 72 inch wide boat, I had to install it 2 inches above the bottom (on the stern of course). So it is not flush against the bottom but still hangs down about four inches vs. 6 or 7 inches. I hope I still have the benefits of the trim tabs but fear I might be cheating myself by 2 inches and perhaps performance.
What do you all think?
I can still take it down if I want by just drilling three more holes and plug up the other three I drilled today. I hope the 5200 sealant is not gripping yet since I will have to remove the plate and screws.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Does 2inches above bottom make difference for Trim Tabs?

you are cheating yourself. that is why i use 3M 4200.

Mark42

Fleet Admiral

Yep, what TD said.....

I am no expert on Trim Tabs by any stretch of the imagination. Just a comment that all the setups I've seen have the tabs mounted flush with the bottom of the boat.

And the 5200 is an issue for dis-assembly. Use the 4200 or some other poly sealant on parts that need to come apart in the future.

kandil

Chief Petty Officer

For the trim tap to work correctly it has to be 1/2" up from the bottom:eek:

mydogmax

Cadet

I thought that would be the case. Thank guys! I will drop it down this morning to flush with the bottom.

Moody Blue

Captain

A little puzzling why you are asking the question now. You have ignored the mfr's instructions, drilled the transom and installed the tabs where you thought they should go THEN asked if it will make a difference or not.

If you had the possibility of installing them properly in the first place (I can still take it down if I want by just drilling three more holes and plug up the other three I drilled today) why didn't you?