Do i Winterize it?

cenrique

Seaman
I am new at boating and i would like some help regarding winterizing a 5 hp Johnson outboard. I am going to be storing this engine in my basement for the winter and I wanted to know if i still need to winterize even though its going to be indoors? Would it be safe to store it without winterizing it?, any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks

1730V

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Do i Winterize it?

You do not have to worry about freezing but.......

It's still a good idea to service the lower unit and run stabilizer treated fuel through the carb before storage.

mkrupp

Seaman

I always thought that storing your motor in your basemant was a no-no.
Something about the humidity from the furnace and what not. That it would pit the cylinder walls, but if it was outside and fozen there is less of a chance of that happening. So i have always just winterized mine and let it sit in the detached garage. That is just what i heard.

dajohnson53

Lieutenant Commander

I don't think the need for winterizing an outboard, or the procedure is different whether the engine is stored indoors or out. The freezing temps is not an issue - because an outboard self drains the water from the cooling system, therefore not an issue if it's outdoors or indoors.

You should read the winterizing FAQ in the FAQ section and follow all steps. If it were mine, I would

change l/u oil
run stabilized fuel through it and stablilize fuel in tank.
fog

PS: if you don't have an owner's manual for this engine, you should get one. It will have info on care and general maintenance.

samo_ott

Vice Admiral

I agree with DaJohnson

- change l/u oil
- run stabilized fuel through it and stablilize fuel in tank.
- fog it

You definitely want to change the LU oil to get any water out. And fogging it with spray would solve any furnace issues (not that I've head of that)