Do I have my anchor set up right?

Jamie Z

Cadet
I'm fairly new to this, and just learning as I go. I've done a lot of reading on this site and elsewhere online, and the other thing I do is walk around the docks at the marina and see how other people have their stuff set up.

I can't really figure out how I'm supposed to store the anchor and rode. Here's my setup:

IMG_6866.JPG

(The anchor looks huge in this photo. That's merely an odd camera perspective.)

I've got a box anchor attached to a six foot galvanized chain, and then to a 100-foot 1/2" anchor rope.

The two main questions I have are, do I just leave the anchor hanging off the bow like that all the time? And, when I went to put the rope into the storage box, I couldn't see any way to get it in there other than to thread it in six inches at a time from the outside. I'm worried about the rope becoming a tangled mess inside the box next time I need to use the anchor.

Is that how others do it, or is there a better way?

Jamie

Bass-by-you

Seaman
Re: Do I have my anchor set up right?

Jamie Z......I am going through the exact same dilema. Just curious, what Brand, make model boat is that. I am in the process of outfitting a '84 Galaxy with the teak nose (same as in your pic). I am also confused as to the anchoring system.....Did you cut out the teak for the anchor rode guide? What kind of metal is the guide made of? Did you fab it yourself or buy it some where? How is it attached to the teak?....Sorry I don't have answers for you. I just have more questions.

Capt'n Chris

Chief Petty Officer

In what conditions do you plan to use your new anchor?

Bass-by-you

Seaman

As for me...I can see me using the anchor under two scenarios, 1: Off shore where I want to fish at a know reef area, 2: overnight camping in a protected bay area. Ideas?

Pez Vela

Chief Petty Officer

No, you do not. Your box anchor is designed to be folded and stored below. Your bow pulpit can accommodate a traditional anchor.