Dissimilar metals?

Hello again! I really appreciate this forum & everyone?s help! I hate to sound dumb but I am still pretty new to this stuff. I have a 24? 1993 Sweetwater. As I have said in previous posts, I just added a bigger/heavier engine to the boat & reinforced the engine pod/transom areas as well as adding 3? plates to the bottom of all engine pod bolts & thick aluminum strips to the tops of the frame rails so the bolts don?t easily pull through. It just seemed appropriate to help distribute the weight on the bolt holes to hopefully keep it from falling/tearing off the boat.

I sometimes have a tendency to over analyze things before & after I do them & came across a ?Potential issue?(????) I have read that butting different metals up against each other could be a potential problem. The extra bracing I used on the top & rear bottom of the engine pod are made out of powder coated steel & the 3? plates are also made of steel. All of which are bolted directly to the aluminum. I do not take the boat on saltwater & have no intentions of doing so. It is not stored on the water & really have no plans to do so but who knows, I may consider a slip through the summer months in the future if I get tired of dragging it to & from the water but not sure.

What kind (if any) problems should I anticipate from the aluminum/steel combo?

luckyjr

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Dissimilar metals?

spray cold galv in the holes you drilled, it will help but not a cure the problem,

5150abf

Vice Admiral

Other than rust I don't see a problem with that, your car likely has aluminum rims that sit against the steel rotor with no problems.

Stainless will sometimes, but not always, react with aluminum but every screw and fastener on my boat is stainless and I have never had a problem and you are using regular steel so I think you are fine.

WaterDR

Senior Chief Petty Officer