Dead Battery, Slow Tach, No Charge

TopNotch

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Well after years of having no problems with my engine (1986 Evinrude V6-150), i am back.<br /><br />This week, a late night fishing trip resulted in a dead battery, 3 miles out. Things seemed pretty normal on the way out. When we finished the nights fishing, we go to crank it up—Dead. Call for a tow boat, try the jumper pack, but it didnt have the power. Had to do the battery switch (I know its bad for the V-Reg, but we had to get in).<br /><br />Charged the battery back up, dropped it in... And I get 12.4 V on all three Voltmeters, started the engine—No change, still 12.4V. My tach is slow between 0-2000 rpms, when I rev the engine it stops around 3000 rpms, but I know the engine is well around 4000.<br /><br />I dont have any other info than that, and I am not good with electric. My guess, of course would be the V Reg, Rectifier, Stator, Power Pack... but if you could help me out maybe you could tell me where I could start to fix the problem...<br /><br />Thank you in advance!

chuckz

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Dead Battery, Slow Tach, No Charge

12.4 volts indicates a discharged or bad battery. Each cell in a battery is 2.2 volts. There are six cells in a 12 volt battery. A charged 12 volt battery should measure 6 X 2.2 or 13.2 volts. Before you can do anything you need to charge the battery.<br /><br />After you charge the battery measure the battery voltage, if it sn't 13.2 volts, the battery is bad. You can confirm this with a cheap automotive type battery hydrometer.<br /><br />If the battery measures 13.2 volts, re-install it in the boat. Start the boat, the voltage should rise to about 14.2 to 14.6 volts. This indicates that the charging system is working. If it doesn't and the tachometer reads properly, the alternator stator is OK. It's either the regulator or rectifier.

BoatBuoy

Rear Admiral